Music News: Bollywood Composer, Sid Sriram, Debuts a New Album and Tour

Famous Bollywood composer (Slumdog Millionaire), Sid Sriram, is going on tour this month! Check out his live re-imagination of “Limitless” which encapsulates his story and roots (below). The performance features Latha Sriram’s (Sid’s mother) student choir with cuts of footage of Sid performing as a child. Together, it creates for a celebratory and nostalgic experience, highlighting the beauty and depth of the Indian American experience.

Sid’s debut album is out everywhere today, Wednesday March 6th. (Listen to his single “6 Weeks” below!) Sid began the new year with a brand new single, “Entropy,” premiering exclusively on the The 405. They had high praise for the single, calling it “a soaring and cinematic song full of poignancy and power.” It’s the title track of his recently announced debut LP, Entropy.

On the album, Sriram synthesizes three vital versions of himself: the acclaimed virtuoso singer of the Indian classical tradition known as Carnatic music, the vocal star who lights up 10,000-seat arenas by performing Indian cinema’s best-loved contemporary songs, and the talented Northern California kid, enamored of hip-hop, rock, pop and especially old-school soul, and dedicated to the art of production. “This is the first time in my career where all three streams are joining together at once,” Sriram says.

With the release of his latest single, as well as last year’s “It Isn’t True” and “6 Weeks,” Sid looks to expand on his classical, South Indian roots, and combine pop and R&B elements on the new record, adding tremendous range to his music. Since graduating Berklee College of Music, working with Oscar-winning composer A.R. Rahman, and steadily releasing music over the past few years, Sid is poised to release his debut record. Entropy is available everywhere now!

Sid Sriram

“Working off a bed of ethereal electronics that build gradually into something otherworldly, Sriram cultivates an emotional atmosphere on ‘Entropy’ that is entrancing and intoxicating.” – The 405

Sid has also announced a string of US tour dates in early 2019, with plans to hit SXSW in Austin, as well. Stay tuned for more news on the release of Entropy and be sure to catch Sid on tour in your city next March:

03.03 – Fox Cabaret – Vancouver, BC
03.07 – The Sunset – Seattle, WA *SOLD OUT*
03.08 – Swedish American Hall – San Francisco, CA
03.09 – Masonic Lounge, Hollywood Forever Cemetery – Los Angeles, CA
03.10 – Soda Bar – San Diego, CA
03.19 – Sleeping Village – Chicago, IL
03.20 – Opera House – Toronto, ON *SOLD OUT*
03.21 – National Sawdust – Brooklyn, NY
03.23 – Le Ministère – Montreal, QC
03.24 – Cafe 939 – Boston, MA *SOLD OUT*

01. Eyes Open
02. It Isn’t True
03. 6 Weeks
04. Entropy
05. Paper Plates
06. Palm Trees, Fleeting
07. Moksha
08. Back Down
09. 2am Prayer
10. Waiting For The Sun
11. Daunting
12. Limitless

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.